Zucchini Bread

Our house has a little eating nook off the kitchen. I had this amazing vision of doing this DIY corner bench with Ikea bookshelves that had storage in them. It wasn’t working. We never used it, and getting to the storage was annoying. So, I decided to make over the space.

I got this Ikea Hemnes desk on sale and my dad put it together for me. I love it. It fits perfectly in the space and it works as an amazing little command center for our mail, and the cookbooks I use frequently.  FullSizeRender (10)

It’s been 7 months, 3 weeks, and 2 days since I’ve worked full-time. This extended period of time off has been a mixture of good and bad. Obviously, the bad included being operated on and unable to do things that require 2 working legs. No one ever expects to go through something like this, especially at my age. Our life for the last 7 months has been mostly out of our control, and that has sucked.

But I will say, there have been some good parts. Like, you know, not having to go to work. I’ve basically made my own schedule based on what I feel like doing each day. I’ve learned new things (knitting) and started new habits (swimming!). I’ve had the chance to spend more time with my friends and family (particularly this past holiday season) because I didn’t work my weird schedule. And while I have missed my coworkers and being a nurse tremendously, they’ve all kept in touch and I’ve seen several of them outside of work.

Today is my last day of medical leave. Tomorrow I start training for my temporary new job at the cardiology office. It’s a weird feeling having something I never thought would happen come to an end. It’s like life is almost back to normal. I’m hesitant to say we’ve made it through it, but it feels like we’re on the downward slope. There are moments– even when I’m standing!– where I actually forget that something happened to my leg.

It’s so, so excited.

So, anyway. Last week in our Door-to-Door Organics box we got literally 5 zucchini. I knew immediately I needed to make zucchini bread. I had never even had zucchini bread until last summer when my husband bought some from a farm stand while we were camping. It was delicious! I had no idea it even existed and it’s one of his favorites.phonto (1)

Each zucchini yields about 1 cup shredded, so I had a lot of zucchini on my hands. Earlier this week I tried scones with a lemon glaze, but I wasn’t thrilled with the results. Guess I better stick to the old standards.

FullSizeRender (12)
I packed them in these little loaf pans and gave them away to family.

This recipe is from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook. I’m happy with the results so I thought I would share it with you all.FullSizeRender (13)

Zucchini bread

  • Servings: 2 loaves
  • Time: 1 hour 15 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded, unpeeled zucchini
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)
  • 2/3 cup raisins (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bottom and 1/2 inch up sides of 2 loaf pans, set aside. In a large bowl stir flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Make a well in center of flour mixture.

In a medium bowl combine eggs, sugar, shredded zucchini, oil, and vanilla. Add zucchini mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy). If desired, fold in nuts and raisins.. Spoon batter into prepared pans.

Bake about 55 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted near centers come out clean. Cool in pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pans. Cool completely on wire rack. Wrap and store overnight before slicing.

Enjoy!FullSizeRender (11)

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-79-13F9477B95A7D5430A2164D1CF5C268D

Leave a Reply

