I’ve always loved the idea of summer…

Sorry for the really long hiatus! I haven’t had much to write about. I’m just over here walking, going up and down the stairs, doing all kinds of other things all by myself. It’s exciting!

This lemon slice was exclusively for photo purposes. I don't sit around my house drinking perfect lavender lemonade with perfect little lemon slices. I pour it in a glass with some ice (if we have any) and drink it down.
This lemon slice was exclusively for photo purposes. I don’t sit around my house drinking perfect lavender lemonade with perfect little lemon slices. I pour it in a glass with some ice (if we have any) and drink it down.

So I was in the kitchen emptying the dishwasher today and obviously it made sense to make lemonade while I was up. It’s just what you do, right?

So, I juiced a bag of lemons, made some simple syrup, and then I thought “well, since I’m here, I should just add some lavender.”

And just like that, I had my favorite summer treat. Lavender lemonade.

So first you boil the water and sugar, making simple syrup. Once the water is boiling, add some lavender buds. You can find these at your local spice market or on Etsy. Let the water steep with the lavender for an hour. You’ll have to resist the urge to fall asleep.

In the meantime, juice some lemons. You can certainly use store-bought lemon juice, I have before. It’ll work in a pinch but it’s not as life changing as fresh lemon juice. So you get yourself a good juicer (I have this one from Pampered Chef and I love it.) and put in the work.

Mix it all together with some ice water and you’re done! Pour yourself a glass and enjoy yourself some summer.

Lavender Lemonade

  • Servings: 5
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon dried lavender buds
  • 1 cup of lemon juice (from 8 small lemons)
  • 2 1/2 cups ice water

Boil 2 1/2 cups water with sugar. Add lavender, cover, and steep for 1 hour. Drain lavender buds from water, reserving liquid.

Pour reserved lavender/sugar/water mixture into a pitcher,  add lemon juice and ice water. Stir well, and serve over ice.

Can you believe that a month ago I couldn’t even walk and now I’m making lemonade?! I’m so excited about my progress so far. My next x-ray is June 9th, and hopefully this will show that the graft is healing well. My surgeon already told me that if it doesn’t show healing it doesn’t mean it won’t, just that it needs a little more time to catch on.

Thanks for all the kind words on Facebook, it has really meant a lot!

Leave a Reply

