I can do hard things

I never meant to put this much time between my last post and thidrew_crutchess one. I wish I could say that I’ve been, like, super busy but we all know that would be a lie. I’ve always been one of those people that is a lot more productive with a busy schedule. Like, if I have one thing to do I’m less likely to get up and do it than if I have 10 things.

Anyway, I’m officially almost done with the non-weight-bearing portion of my trip. (Happy to report I am out of my post-op hole. Those narcs were not a good trip.) This has been harder than I thought it would be, less painful than I thought it would be, and (like everyone said it would) it has gone by faster than I thought it would.

So, here’s a bulleted list to summarize my progress for those of you interested:

  • I can bend my leg to approximately 90 degrees passively, a little more if I help it.
  • I have read 2 books, and am halfway through a third.
  • I learned to knit. Seriously, if you find yourself in a similar predicament to my own, I highly encourage it.
  • I am this close to getting my leg perfectly straight.
  • I can sleep on my side again, which is exciting. I am not a back sleeper, plus I have a pressure ulcer from positioning during surgery on my butt cheek, so laying on my side is sweet, sweet comfort.
  • The cat can safely walk across my knee without it hurting.
  • I have watched 4 seasons of Grey’s Anatomy. Seriously? Seriously. I feel like it’s helping me keep my edge. (By picking out all the errors, not by giving me actual medical knowledge. Who knew so many people flatlined during plastic surgery!)
  • I’ve found a way to venture up the stairs, if only to take a shower.
  • I will never, ever take simple things for granted. When this is all over and I can carry my own glass of iced tea to the table, I will be a happy girl.
  • My husband should probably be considered for some type of sainthood.

Until next time,

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-79-13F9477B95A7D5430A2164D1CF5C268D

Leave a Reply

