Welcome!

Hi everyone! I’m Jen, and I’m a twenty-not-almost-thirty-something nurse living in Grand Rapids, Michigan. I live with husband, Ben, Chloe the cat, and Shadow the dog in a cute little house on Bridge street.

Up until November 2014, I was working full time in a local Emergency Department. In my spare time, which seemed so minimal, I baked, cooked, cleaned (ok…sometimes), and of course decorated our home.

Then, one beautiful Saturday  morning changed everything. I was 25 minutes into a fun shift at work when I fell while caring for a patient and dislocated my right knee. I spent the next month navigating the workman’s compensation system waiting to see the orthopedist. Once I did, I found out I would need not one, but two surgeries to repair the damage I’d done. I tore my medial patelofemoral ligament and tore off cartilage from the base of my femur. The cartilage tear requires a cadaver graft to repair, so I’m “on a list” waiting for that.

(Day 1 after injury…the whole gang kept my company on the couch.)

(Robo-leg! I’ve since ditched this brace and am working on also ditching my limp.)

In the meantime, my routine has changed kind of a lot. I’ve (temporarily) hung up my scrubs and have all the time in the world to pursue new hobbies. Being a stay-at-home wife is an interesting role, so I hope you enjoy reading my blog! Stay tuned for more updates.

Leave a Reply

